top of page

4 Picture Stories (Andy Moxon)


My first picture story is by Michal huniewicz who documented his trip to north Korea. I love this story and has inspired me to want to go to north Korea and document my own trip around the country. I feel that this is such a strong series of images because of the mystery that north Korea is as it is very closed off from the rest of the world along with having a dictatorship this makes an amazing story to document.

Richard Mosse’s ‘The Impossible image’ is a photographic story that has greatly influenced my photographic practice today I will always think outside the box when It comes to shooting a subject matter. The first question I will ask myself thanks to Mosse is what should I shoot on. This can greatly influence and change the outcomes of the shots that you get depending on how drastic the changes are to your equipment. The second question I ask myself is who I should use as inspiration as I will always have a different photographer in mind for each shoot I do. Mosse is a great inspiration due to the way that he shot his subject matter in such a beautiful and unique way that worked well around the subject matter that he was shooting.

Corey Arnold’s ‘Fish Work’ is a photographic story I found while doing research for my own project that is still on going. Arnold photographed trawler men as they went about there duties on the open ocean photographing there daily lives on board and sometimes on land. I especially like the connection you feel between the crew and Arnold as you can tell they have been well introduced to one another. This is the main inspiration I got from Arnold's work which I use to remind myself to try and get close to my subject before a shoot as this connection can be seen in your photographs. I have recently used Arnold as inspiration to my second ‘The Stories Of Gloucestershire’ shoot.

Tim Hetheringtons ‘You Never See Them Like This’ is my favorite picture story by Hetherington. Hetherington doesn’t just photograph his subjects in a certain way like I have seen in a lot of other photographic stories. Instead Hethrington shoots in a lot of different ways from up close with a wide angle lens to far away with a telephoto to shallow depth to deep and so on. This makes this story especially intriguing and inspiring to me as there is a lot to take in and a lot to inspire and capture my imagination.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page